Tuesday, Dec. 4 – Heather Stevens

4 Dec

Tuesday, Dec. 4 – PEACE

Today’s Scripture:
Psalm 43:3-5
Romans 5:1

Peaceful is the exact opposite of how I am feeling.  Irritable, selfish, rushed and tense would be a more accurate description.

My instincts( and actions)  are  to completely give myself over to these all too familiar feelings. Then I am reminded- thanks, once again- to my ever present teacher-the Holy Spirit,

“Replace these lies with truth.”

“-we have it all together with God because of our Master Jesus.”    Well – I definitely don’t have it all together.  I can’t remember the last time I had it all together.  Oh wait – not MY version of having it all together.  HIS version, the true reality of having it all together looks very different than mine.  HIS version looks a lot like PEACE.

“By entering through Faith into what God has always wanted to do for us-set us right with Him, make us fit for Him- we have it all together with God(We have peace with God) because of our Master Jesus.

But, why can’t I make myself, will myself to be filled with peace.  I thought I had come so far.  I thought I had this beat. .  This “having it all together”, this “peace”  is beyond my grasp.  My humanity has too tight of a stranglehold on me for that.  A huge wave of humility sweeps over me.  I am completely incapable of peace.  Not creating peaceful circumstances,  but peace with God.  I am reminded that over and over, scripture refers to Him as a God of Grace and Peace.

But wait – I can – and do have peace with God – BECAUSE OF MY MASTER JESUS.  This struggle doesn’t have to be.  I stop, and pray for help “Lord help my perspective to be Yours, not mine,” and fill my racing thoughts with scripture-  “Give me Your lantern and compass, give me a map, so I can find my way to the sacred mountain, to the place of Your presence… Fix my eyes on God- soon I’ll be praising again.  He puts a smile on my face. He’s my God.”  – I remember – I’ve been to that mountain – I LIVE on that mountain!!!!  I HAVE come far.  He has shown me the way!  What Joy!  What Hope!  What PEACE!

The circumstances have not changed.  But guess what!  I have changed!  Praise you Lord for these reminders of Your presence, Your way, Your truth!  That I am not doomed to live a life of self- absorption, anxiety, irritability, and annoyance, but a life of love, joy, PEACE, and so much more!

Quotes from Psalm 43:3-5 and Romans 5:1 are from The Message.

-HS

One Response to “Tuesday, Dec. 4 – Heather Stevens”

  1. Jane Woods December 4, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    “Oh wait – not MY version of having it all together. HIS version, the true reality of having it all together looks very different than mine.”

    So good, love it! Thanks Heather ;)

Leave a Reply

